Georgia Added to State-Funded Travel Ban

The state of Georgia has been added to the state of California's ban on state-funded travel. The prohibition was implemented as a result of discriminatory legislation signed into law this year by those states and brings the total of states banned under Assembly Bill 1887 (AB 1887) to 23.

AB 1887 restricts state agencies from requiring employees to travel to any state that has enacted a law that discriminates on the basis of sexual orientation, gender identity or gender expression. The law also prohibits approval of state-funded or state-sponsored travel to states on the list. Any travel and travel expenses to these impacted states using California State funds will not be reimbursed. 

For information on state-fund definitions and exceptions, please visit the Supply Chain Management website.

For additional information, the following sites offer further guidance: